bloglovinBloglovin iconemailfacebookFacebook iconinstagramInstagram iconlinkedinLinkedIn iconpinterestPinterest iconrssRSS iconsoundcloudSoundCloud icontwitterTwitter iconyoutube

The Lee Strasberg Creative Center


The Lee Strasberg Creative Center® offers support to the artistic goals of The Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute® and its community and maintains the legacy and vision of Lee Strasberg and his innovative work, known as Lee Strasberg Method Acting™.

As part of its commitment to nurturing aspiring actors and the future of American theater, film and performance media, The Lee Strasberg Creative Center sponsors various programs. It offers a scholarship program for students to The Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute. Through The Clifford Odets Ensemble Play Commission, it sponsors opportunities for emerging young playwrights, directors and actors and promotes the creation of new theater works. It features events for artistic development at The Institute, including the StrasbergTALKS lecture series, seminars, community outreach, cultural exchanges and international collaborations. It continually seeks opportunities to engage with the greater community and contribute to the theater and performing arts.

The Creative Center also conserves and maintains Lee Strasberg’s archives, which include videos of his acting classes and lectures. It is preserving these important, educational videos and making them available for students to view.

The Lee Strasberg Creative Center accepts contributions to support scholarships and its other programs. It is a 501(c)(3) organization, and contributions are tax-deductible to the full extent permitted by law. Contributions may be sent to The Lee Strasberg Creative Center, 115 East 15th Street, New York, NY 10003.


Al Pacino • Donna L. Corbat • Michele Etienne • Rick Friedberg • Lyle Kessler • Francine LeFrak • Jonathan Marder • James L. Nederlander • Aaron Schroeder • Pat Kerr Tigrett


The Clifford Odets Ensemble Play Commission is an annual playwriting commission sponsored by The Lee Strasberg Creative Center. This commission invites emerging playwrights to write original works for an ensemble of actors at The Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute. It partners playwrights, directors and actors trained in Lee Strasberg Method Acting to foster the synergy of great acting with the development of new works for the theater. Its goal is to provide an incubating space for developing true ensemble plays in New York City and cultivating the next generation of collaborating artists.

This commission is named in honor of Clifford Odets, a noted playwright and member of The Group Theatre, a historic, ensemble theater company co-founded by Lee Strasberg, Harold Clurman and Cheryl Crawford to create a new vision for American theater. The commission seeks to expand the legacy of The Group Theatre to produce vibrant, relevant, contemporary theater.